dakroland's Japan Journal

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More old photos

Since that last test was successful, I'll post a few more of my Dad's old pictures and then tomorrow I'll post a massive final update about our Japan trip. I'm still recovering from this cold, and it has me coughing and hacking like crazy. I seem to be doing better now, but I still have the stuffy nose and crud that I'm coughing up. Lovely mental image, I know. Sorry.

Anyways, here's some better images for ya...

The former Japan Diet building.

Dad's Old Pics 612.jpg

Before

Hong Kong Beauty Parlor & Barber Shop under construction

After...

Dad's Old Pics 623.jpg

On top of a department store...

Dad's Old Pics 620.jpg

Amusement park style ride on top of a department store...

Dad's Old Pics 622.jpg

Kids...

Dad's Old Pics 624.jpg

Fuji View Hotel waitresses...

Dad's Old Pics 673.jpg

Dad's Old Pics 667.jpg

That's it for tonight. I'll be back tomorrow with the promised update. :)

0 comments so far

8:19 p.m. - 2007-11-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Testing Flickr Photo Links

Dad's Old Pics 707.jpg Here's a picture of a traveling entertainer. TV wasn't widespread in Japan yet, and movie theaters weren't as populous as the multiplexes are today. This gentleman would ride around, stopping periodically to tell stories, play music, and show little movies in a portable theater. This was just one of many scenes of daily Japanese life in 1954-56 that my Dad captured on his old Samoca 35mm camera.

0 comments so far

8:02 p.m. - 2007-11-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sasori-gal
chaosdaily