dakroland's Japan Journal

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A New Low, And More Trip Blogging!

When I was in Japan, I lost weight. I hit 91.0Kg at least once during my trip. After coming back from the trip, I hit 91.0Kg at least twice, but wound up gaining a bit after that. Faced with Thanksgiving yesterday, I was worried that I might not get below my best weight before the end of the year. But this morning I stepped on the scale and couldn't believe my eyes. I stepped off, reset it, stepped back on again...and there it was again. The same numbers. So I did it one more time, just to be sure. Nope, no change. My weight?

90.8kg!

I don't know how i did it. I mean, I did have a full plate yesterday, and I ate some leftovers last night, way later than I should have...but somehow, I lost weight. I'm doing my best today to keep that going. Hopefully I'll have more good news to report..

...so on that note...

Here's the next installment of my Japan blog series. Look for it on paperback and the Travel Channel soon. (Just kidding... It's either Hardcover or nothing!)

Sunday

Sunday was going to be a busy day. The Kasuga Shrine Festival was going to be held all day. I quickly got ready to go, but my daughter opted to stay at the house instead.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

I left with Miki and Koki to meet up with some other kids and adults. The kids put on Hoppi coats and head bands, while the adults just put on Hoppi coats.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

We walked through town to the Kasuga Shrine, and we were joined by some of the living area leaders, dressed in traditional grey and white costumes. Some had symbols of the Castle, others had symbols of Kasuga Shrine on them.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

We passed some portable shrines along the way that would be carried around later that night.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

When we entered Kasuga Shrine (the same one we visited with Miho on our first full day in Sasayama) it was abuzz with activity. The Noh stage was opened up and displayed on it were a lion's costume (shishi), taiko drums, a Noh mask and some garb to be worn by the men who would be beating the taiko drums.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

At the far end, I could see 4 smaller wheeled portable shrines lined up and kids were gathering around them.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

The shrines were old, and rather impressive looking. You could almost imagine how spectacular they must have looked when they were new. The shrines stood about 10ft tall. At the front and back was a miniature Torii. At the top of the shrine was a bird (I don't know what kind). The Shrine symbol can be seen around the base and at the ends of the poles that were at the front and rear of the portable shrines.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Miki met up with Miho's friend, Satomi, and those two would be at the front of the third portable shrine, leading the kids. Some adults would be helping with the shrine itself, and one would be steering it.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

I was asked to follow behind the shrine. This was cool because I could take pictures and video of the event. In a way, I kind of wanted to be a part of it. It looked like a lot of fun, but being an outsider, I don't think I could be a part of it.

We waited for the festival to begin, which would be marked by a ceremony in the main shrine building. I noticed a few couples with newborn children. The wives were all dressed in beautiful Kimono, their husbands in their finest dress suits. There were many more leaders dressed in similar grey and white attire, joined by several dignitaries in black traditional garb. They went into the main shrine with the families and a shrine priest, and the ceremony began.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

After the blessing by the priest, in which he waved a staff topped with those zig-zag strips you usually see hanging from Torii or off sacred trees (to chase away evil, I was told), they exited the shrine, and the next part of the ceremony commenced. At the Noh Stage, each costume or item was given to people from the different living areas. First, the wearer of the Noh Mask, then the two carriers of the small Taiko drum, then the person who would dress as the shishi (Miki's husband Hiro).

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

They all lined up, and carriers of 8 flags (I assume representing the various Shrines) lined up behind them. After them were the leaders of the living areas, dignitaries, and finally, it was time for the portable shrines.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

We followed the parade out the main entrance to the shrine. ramps were placed on the steps to allow the portable shrines to easily leave and return. As we left, people were standing on both sides of the street, clapping. The kids would yell the shrine Chant. I can't remember exactly, I think it was "yoitanja" or something close. I have audio and video, so I'll post that eventually.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

We walked around Sasayama with the kids pulling the shrines, and I got quite a few odd looks, but I didn't mind. It was cool beyond words.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

We were the third shrine, and the group behind us was comprised mostly of girls. They kept giggling and raising the V-sign every time I'd point the camera their way. It was too funny.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

There wasn't a lot of room on the streets, and police were out to help clear the way for the shrines.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

After about an hour, we stopped for a break of hot tea and sweets. I enjoyed watching the kids run around and play, while the parents (almost all mothers) gabbed amongst themselves. Eventually, the lead procession passed through and we gathered up the kids and shrines and continued on our way.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

I followed the parade for another hour or so, as we went around the south side of the castle ruins. Some branches on the sakura trees were a little low and got the bird ornamentation stuck a couple times on our shrine. But we were able to free them without damage. When we were close to Miho's house, I told Miki I was going to return home and headed back. I was a bit tired and decided to take a nap.

Supper that night was an hodge-podge of quick items. We enjoyed a sweet treat from the festival, a fish shaped snack that had a sweet bean inside, the outside tasted like pancake.

Sweet Bean Festival Treat

Deep fried Renkon (daikon?) that had a meat filling inside. It was awesome!

Tempura Renkon

Spaghetti

Spaghetti

Soft chicken bone, which I actually like a LOT. I want to have it again.

Soft Chicken Bone

And edamame...

Edamame

I did try this sushi, which only Nori liked, but no one else did. It was okay, but it had a very strong fish taste (obviously).

Smelly Fish Sushi

After supper, we ventured out to the Festival to check out the food and festivites, and those other portable shrines.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival Lanterns in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

It was quite chilly, but not too cold. We passed one portable shrine on the way, as they were preparing it for the big event. 4 kids sat inside the shrine, in colorful costume and wearing face makeup.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Kasuga shrine was packed with people when we got there. It was very crowded. We passed several booths hawking cheap toys and video games, and the usual festival food. Takoyaki, yakiika, sausage, and more. The smells were amazing, and if I hadn't just eaten supper, I'd have bought a bunch of food right then and there. I was eying the yakiika (grilled squid) and planned on buying one before we left.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Inside the main Shrine complex, people were watching the portable shrines carried in by teams of 20-30 men. Everyone was yelling and chanting and cheering. Seated in the Noh Stage were the Shrine priest, dignitaries and area leaders.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

The portable shrines were paraded around inside the main grounds 4 at a time. They would pass each other, barely missing colliding into each other, and then periodically, the men would raise the shrine they were carrying as high up above their head as they could...

then SHAKE the shrine up and down vigorously. All the while, the 4 kids inside would hold on for dear life.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

This would go on for several hours, as the first group of 4 shrines would rest, the next group would enter the shrine and do the same thing all over again. Of course, the men would then drink, laugh, and sometimes fight.

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

Shrine Festival in Sasayama

We watched for a while, then left. I realized when I got home, I forgot to buy some Yakiika. >.< Maybe on our next trip.

Next: Our last full day in Japan, and going home.

0 comments so far

4:38 p.m. - 2007-11-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sasori-gal
chaosdaily